Stratus - A series of instant film collages created for the Before My Eyes exhibition. "There are layers to us that others don't see. That is, unless you get to know a person. To do this, you must take time and effort to peel back what you see on the surface and get to know what is beyond. Come to know that what one person sees as a flaw, another can see as strength. And even if you don't see someone's layers, understand that they are there. Maybe they just aren't yours to see."

Before My Eyes was an exhibition of instant film photographs curated by Brian Garbrecht. Thirteen artist from around the world sent instat film images that were hung at Side Street Studio Arts in Elgin, IL for the month of November 2019. A grant from the Elgin Cultural Arts Commission helped pay for artist' work to be shipped to Elgin, as well as the creation of a zine by the same name, which was limited to 150 copies. 

Before My Eyes artists:

Sarah Achor   @sarahjeanachor

W.E. Arnold   @wearnold

Taylor Boylston   @taylorboylston

Marcus Branch   marcusbranch.com @marcus.branch

John Erickson   @lordrichardhead  postcardsandpolaroidsshow.com

Urizen Freaza   urizen.es  @urizenfreaza

Brian Garbrecht   briangarbrecht.com  @theoryofbrian

Kayla Holdgreve   kaylaholdgreve.com  @kaylasuzanne

Bijou Karman   bijoukarman.com  @bijoukarman

Jason Lee   jasonleefilm.com  @jasonlee

David Lekach   davidlekach.com  @davidlekach

Kyle Michaels   @hellothisiskyle

Savanna Pettengill   savannapettengill.com  @naturalmeditations

Edie Sunday   ediesunday.com  @ediesunday

Brian Garbrecht - Stratus #2 (Em)
"Stratus #2 (Em)"
Brian Garbrecht - Stratus #4 (Justin)
"Stratus #4 (Justin)"
Brian Garbrecht - Stratus #1 (Scotty)
"Stratus #1 (Scotty)"
Brian Garbrecht - Stratus #3 (Sana)
"Stratus #3 (Sana)"
Brian Garbrecht -
Brian Garbrecht -
Brian Garbrecht -
Brian Garbrecht -
Brian Garbrecht -
Brian Garbrecht -
Brian Garbrecht -
Brian Garbrecht -
Brian Garbrecht -
Brian Garbrecht -
Brian Garbrecht -
Brian Garbrecht -
Facebook Twitter Instagram share